Residual Stress Summit 2017

Iain Finnie portrait

Iain Finnie Memorial Award

The Iain Finnie Memorial Award recognizes leading engineers and researchers who have made seminal contributions to applied residual stress technology through either major practical innovations or pivotal theoretical advances. The award is named to honor the life and achievements of Professor Iain Finnie, a gifted researcher and educator, who made many substantial contributions in the fields of residual stress measurement and materials behavior. The Iain Finnie Memorial Award comprises a framed certificate and a $1000 cash prize, kindly endowed by Mrs. Joan Finnie.

Iain Finnie, 1928-2010

Iain Finnie was born on July 18, 1928, to Scottish parents in Hong Kong. He attended Scotland’s University of Glasgow, where he graduated in 1949 with a Bachelor of Science degree with first class honors. He completed his M.S. and Sc.D. degrees in Mechanical Bngineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in 1950 and 1953, respectively.

Finnie was a leading expert on engineering materials. His 1959 textbook, Creep of Engineering Materials, written with William Heller, is regarded as a classic in its field. His pioneering work on erosion of materials has been emulated but never equaled by several generations of subsequent researchers. His early papers remain very highly cited. He pioneered early fracture mechanics work on the directional stability of cracks and Weibull statistics. He invented and popularized the Crack Compliance (incremental slitting) method for measuring residual stress.

In 1967, Finnie received a Guggenheim Award, a rarity for engineers, to study brittle solids. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1979, appointed an honorary member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers in 1981, and received the ASME Nadai Medal in 1982. When he retired from UC Berkeley in 1993, Finnie received the Berkeley Citation, the highest honor the campus awards.

Iain Finnie Award Winners:

Lyndon Edwards portrait

2017 Iain Finnie Awardee:   Lyndon Edwards

Lyndon Edwards was awarded the 2017 Iain Finnie Award for seminal contributions to both residual stress measurement, especially neutron diffraction, and the application of those measurements for the prediction and mitigation of residual stress effects in the field of structural integrity. Lyndon was also recognized for his tireless dedication to the integrity of residual stress research and engineering.

Lyndon Edwards is currently National Director, Australian Generation IV International Forum Research at the Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Organisation (ANSTO), in which capacity he led Australia’s recent application for membership of the Generation IV International Forum (GIF) and its subsequent relevant research activities. Prior to his present position he was Head of the Institute of Materials Engineering at ANSTO for 10 years. Previously a UK academic, he held a Personal Chair in Structural Integrity at the Open University, UK and is currently Adjunct Professor of Materials Engineering at Monash University in Australia. Prof. Edwards has over 250 publications, the majority of which are on Residual Stress.


Bob Bucci portrait

2013 Iain Finnie Awardee:   Robert J. Bucci

Bob Bucci was awarded the 2013 Iain Finnie Award for his contributions to residual stress technology in the context of aerospace structural materials. His many contributions show a persistent drive to understand, quantify, and manage the influences of residual stress on the characterization and performance of aluminum alloys.

Bucci has been with Alcoa for 40 years, with his early work on the forefront of fracture mechanics technology. Bucci joined Del Research in 1970, as the small business was helping industry come to terms with fracture mechanics technology. At Alcoa, and in countless collaborations with colleagues in professional societies, Bucci supported the normalization of fracture mechanics testing standards, illuminating the ways that residual stresses can confound fatigue crack growth and fracture data.

Bucci obtained a B.S. in mechanical engineering at Northeastern University, an M.S. in solid mechanics at Brown University, and a Ph.D. in applied mechanics at Lehigh University. He received the ASTM Award of Merit, is a Fellow of ASM International, the Materials Information Society, and is a member of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.


Weili Cheng portrait

2010 Iain Finnie Awardee:   Weili Cheng

Weili Cheng was awarded the 2010 Iain Finnie Award for his seminal contributions to the development of the Crack Compliance (incremental slitting) method for measurement of residual stress. Weili worked with Iain Finnie starting in the early 1980's to develop the theoretical, experimental, and analytical tools that led to the popularization of Crack Compliance. He co-authored over two dozen papers on the subject and co-authored the 2007 book Residual Stress Measurement and the Slitting Method.

Weili Cheng received his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering at U.C. Berkeley in 1984. He has worked as an Assistant Professor at Shanghai Jiao Tong University in Shanghai, an Associate Research Engineer at U.C. Berkeley and a Senior Mechanical Engineer at BEAR, Inc. He is currently an Advisory Engineer for Areva Solar in Moountain View, California.

[Home]   [Program]   [Location]   [Accommodations]   [Registration]   [Short Course]   [Demos/Posters]   [Contact]   [Past]   [Round Robins]   [Links]